Endings and beginnings

Hi all,

I’ve been rather quiet on here over the last few weeks, and I do apologise. It’s not for lack of crocheting – I’ve been hard at work on my latest blanket, and I’ve finished over half of the squares I need for it. But crochet has been fitted around visiting my grandmother, who was transferred to a hospice two weeks ago. I took hooks and yarn with me, and spent a lot of time sitting quietly beside her bed, getting on with working up squares, but it all left very little brain for blog updates.

Sadly, my grandmother passed on Monday, with my mother and I holding her hands.

Life is a series of endings and beginnings. One chapter ends, another begins. I am so glad that this new chapter in my life, of designing crochet and sharing those designs with the world, overlapped with my grandmother’s last chapter. She was so proud of me for designing first the Demelza, then the Ross blanket. She knew exactly how much determination it took to make a design, and how much hard work went into each of those blankets. She was so excited to hear that people all across the world have begun following my patterns. And she was able to see the first square I designed for the sunflower blanket, too, and she saw at once the way I had used sunflowers to inspire the shapes and motifs in that square.

As I move on with further adventures in crochet , I will always hold her pride in me close to my heart.

Take care of yourselves,

Catherine
x

 

3 thoughts on “Endings and beginnings

  1. So sorry for your loss. I too was shown the world if crochet by my grandmother. I often think of her when working on a project.
    My sincere condolences and thoughts are with you and your family at this sad time.
    Demelza Blanket also means so much to me and I shall be gifting it to my sister. Thank you for this. These next few weeks will seem so difficult but I’m sure you will find great relief from your crochet designing. Best wishes, Carol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

