Post-Christmas ta da!

Now that Christmas is over with, I can share some of the little things I crocheted for my friends for Christmas πŸ™‚ I’ve also got a couple of Christmas-present-blankets to share, but those are gorgeous enough to merit their own post. This one will be reserved for the little geeky things I made.

One of the things I love about making little geeky things for my friends is that it enables me to use up bits of stash. Yes, that’s definitely a plus point. But it also means I’ve got something small and handmade to give to my nearest and dearest at Christmas – something that’s increasingly important to me as I grow older. I like to give handmade gifts, or at least to have a handmade component to them, whether that’s a little crocheted amigurumi to sit on somebody’s shelf, or a bag of homemade biscuits or fudge to be gobbled up and enjoyed, or a pomander to spread Christmas-y scents for months to come. Whatever I make, I know I made it with love, and it’s received with love – which is, really, what Christmas should be all about.

And obviously geek/fan references are a must, for me and my friends, because we’re all geeks and proud πŸ˜€

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I made this BB-8 amigurumi, inspired by Star Wars: The Force Awakens, for my friend Sam. She requested it months ago – though I think she forgot in the meantime! – and it was fun to make and assemble. The pattern is by Casey Barnes and is free on Ravelry.

SAM_3849.JPG

Thor and Loki, from the Marvel Cinematic Universe. These little guys turned out just so adorable. I saw the patterns and just had to make them for my friend Lali. The patterns are by Jess Newstone, and once again they are available for free: Thor; Loki.

(Excuse the poor lighting in these pictures – I was in a hurry to get them wrapped and didn’t want to wait for daylight!) Charmander, Squirtle and Bulbasaur – the original three Pokemon starters. These were made for my friend Erin, who got fired up with the Pokemon Go craze this year. I particularly like Charmander’s fiery tail πŸ˜€ Patterns by Clare Heesh, all available for free: Charmander; Squirtle; Bulbasaur.

I took part in a Secret Santa this year among a group of Poldark fans, and so of course I had to crochet a little Demelza – and her dog Garrick, to go with her. The basic doll pattern is by Tracy J, and available for free, though I adjusted various bits to make the skirt and to adjust the top. Garrick was crocheted using a pattern for an amigurumi wolf, which is available for free but requires (free) registration on the Lion Brand website.

SAM_3850.JPG

And the last little thing I crocheted is less geeky, but is utterly adorable. These Itty Bitty Bats went to my friend Jessica, because one of her nicknames is ‘Jessi-Bat’ πŸ˜€ Pattern by Lucy Collin is available for free.

A ‘ta da’ post for blankets will follow shortly. Meanwhile, I hope all of you who celebrate it had a lovely Christmas, filled with love and kindness.

Leave a Reply

