One year old

The Demelza blanket is one year old today šŸ˜€ it was exactly a year ago that I published the pattern on Ravelry, expecting very little to come of it, but very proud of accomplishing what I’d set out to achieve. It had been hard work, at times demoralising and at times thrilling, but publishing the pattern made me feel so proud of what I’d done. It was a solid statement: here, I have managed it. My own design.

As I’ve said before, I never expected it to cause the sort of splash it did. Not ever. I still sometimes have to pinch myself when I see other people’s posts about making it – because I never, ever imagined it would be made by…well, frankly, by anyone! I wasn’t a designer (I still struggle to describe myself as that!), I was just a crocheter, still learning tricks and stitches and tips. And then suddenly I wasn’t just a crocheter, I was something else entirely. All because of this blanket, inspired by nothing less than pure fannishness!

Sometimes even now I catch a glimpse of part of the blanket and think ‘hey, that’s awesome, did I really do that?’ (note to self: don’t forget to use that bit of stitch patterning again, because every time I see it I love it more). I love it so much; the colours, the shapes, the patterns, all of it. And I’m just so, so happy that other people love it as much as I do.

11 thoughts on “One year old

  1. And what a beauty it is! I made it along with others in the Colourful CALs group on Ravelry. It was a challenge for me, but I did it and I love the result. So thank you for publishing that pattern!

    Like

  2. It’s one of the nicest patterns I have ever seen. I have just finished my second Demelza. We have come a long way since granny squares. Thank you so much for sharing. X

    Like

  3. Hi Catherine I would love to make Demelza blanket I am wanting to know it’s it easy to follow I have only made granny squares & am wanting to try a blanket is there a video tutorial on the blanket look forward to hearing from you Thanks Elizabeth Rose

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

      1. Thanks so much Catherine for your prompt reply much appreciated I am definitely going to have a look @ Ester video thanks šŸ™

        Like

  4. I loved Demelza and have now started Eves Sunflowers. It is gorgeous. I changed the colors to make “Hydrangeas in Bloom”. Your patterns are great.

    Like

  5. I have just finished your wonderful “Demelza” well still have the border to do. I only started crocheting in September so this was a real challenge and I have learnt so many new stitches and techniques. I had to resort to watching some of Esthers brilliant videos. But well done.

    Like

  6. Welll done indeed, didn’t start mine till mid January and still plugging along and loving it! Thank goodness for Esther’s videos as the lessons taught by my dear Grandma fall rather short when it comes to many of your beautiful designs. Thank you for sharing
    Elizabeth, Perth, Western Australia

    Like

  7. This is such a beautiful pattern! I have just finished it for my daughter, and it’s the first time I have ever attempted anything like this: I’ve never even done a granny square before… It has been a joy from beginning to end and I’m already having withdrawal symptoms. Thank you for this. I look forward to making more of your designs.

    Jill, Melton Mowbray

    Like

Leave a Reply

