A hen that lays…yarn?

A fortnight or so ago, a friend brought me back a present from her recent trip to the Isle of Mull.

‘I’ve brought you some eggs,’ she said, handing me this :

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now this seemed a little strange, because my mother and I keep chickens. We currently have five chickens in the back garden, all of whom are good, regular layers (except one, at the moment, who is doing her best to brood the other hens’ unfertilised eggs,  bless her). Normally it’s me giving away eggs to other people. Quite literally, anyone who comes in the house risks hearing the question ‘do you want half a dozen eggs? We have egg boxes’ because five lovely layers provide more eggs than we can quite get through…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

But of course, this box contained eggs of a slightly different nature.

Look at those cute little balls of yarn!

 

 

The Ardalanish Weavers of Mull use the natural fleeces of their Hebridean sheep to make yarn, as well as other native breeds like Shetland and Manx Loaghtan. And ohh, what lovely colours they are! There’s something so delightful about these natural, earthy colours – chocolatey brown, soil brown, slate greys and the white and cream. The only colourings they use are natural plant colourings (like for the blue-ish ball of yarn in the egg box).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
So much pretty!

You can imagine my delight when I discovered that they have an online shop. I think I’m going to have to order some of this yarn in bigger quantities. I’m thinking warm winter scarves, maybe something like a basketweave stitch, to make a thick, warm scarf and to show off the beautiful colours, particularly the browns. Might get a Christmas present or two out of it, I reckon!

There’s lots of information on their website about their story, their processes, and of course, an online shop where you can buy some (though not all) of their products. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to work out which colour would best suit my brother, and whether I should get DK or Aran weight…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A hen that lays…yarn?

Leave a Reply

